Wisconsin Democrats on the Anniversary of the January 6th Capitol Insurrection

Jan 05, 2024

Wisconsin Democrats on the Anniversary of the January 6th Capitol Insurrection

MADISON, Wis. — Today, Democratic Party of Wisconsin Chair Ben Wikler released the following statement ahead of the third anniversary of the January 6th attack on the United States Capitol:

“Three years ago, we watched in horror as an enraged and criminal MAGA mob stormed the United States Capitol, intent on stopping the electoral count and overturning the results of a free and fair election. Emboldened by Donald Trump’s election lies and incited by the defeated president himself, the insurrectionists came chillingly close to accomplishing their goal and toppling the core of our democracy.

“In the last three years, we’ve learned many unsettling truths about the people responsible for the violence of that day, and we’ve grappled with the nerve-wracking fragility of our democracy. We’ve learned crucial details about the role that Wisconsin Republicans like Ron Johnson and Scott Fitzgerald played in the effort to overturn the 2020 election, and we remember how Bryan Steil, Mike Gallagher, Glenn Grothman, and Tom Tiffany protected Trump from accountability for spurring the insurrection. We will never forget Derrick Van Orden’s presence during the January 6th riot itself, nor how every Wisconsin Republican voted against election reforms to prevent future crises of democracy like we witnessed three years ago. Now, we are watching in real time as the history of January 6 is rewritten and Trump and his fellow MAGA extremists portray the violent enemies of democracy as heroes—a stark reminder that the forces that erupted on that day are once again mustering their strength for another assault on our freedom.

“Trump’s assaults on the foundations of our country drove our democracy to the brink of ruin on January 6, 2021, and he’s threatening to throw our nation into chaos once again. Wisconsin voters know how high the stakes are this November and will stand with President Biden and Vice President Harris as they fight to defend freedom and democracy for all of us.”